Global Security Initiative

Sections Bottom

Global Security Initiative

Vision: a security and intelligence landscape transformed through interdisciplinary research and discovery, in which defense, development and diplomacy operate collaboratively to drive positive outcomes for complex global challenges.

About GSI

The Global Security Initiative (GSI) is a university-wide interdisciplinary hub for global security research that focuses on openness, inclusiveness and connections to the global defense, development and diplomacy communities. The initiative addresses emerging global challenges characterized by complex interdependencies and conflicting objectives, where there may not be obvious solutions. GSI also serves as ASU’s primary interface to the Department of Defense and the Intelligence Community and ASURE (ASU Research Enterprise), an off-campus research facility.

Research efforts will also provide insights on new learning approaches to create and sustain the national security workforce needed to maintain a competitive edge in the global knowledge economy. 

Our Core Team

Nadya Bliss, Ph.D.
Director, GSI
Download Bio


GSI Fellows

Ross Maciejewski, Ph.D. 
Dave White, Ph.D. 

Jamie Winterton
Director, Strategy 
Jamie.Winterton@asu.edu

Brian Gallian
Operations Manager 
Brian.Gallian@asu.edu

Gloria Espinosa
Assistant to Director, Nadya Bliss
Gloria.Espinosa.1@asu.edu

Shade Shutters, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Shade.Shutters@asu.edu 

Wes Herche
Research Scientist
wherche@asu.edu

Diana Aguirre-Rosales
Business Operations Specialist
DianaAguirreRosales@asu.edu

Kristina Nelson
Project Manager
kristinan@asu.edu

Lauren Cater
Project Coordinator
Lauren.Cater@asu.edu

Heather Roff, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
hroff@asu.edu

Center Directors

Gail-Joon Ahn, Ph.D.
Center for Cybersecurity 
and Digital Forensics
gahn@asu.edu